Classic Era – Ludwig van Beethovan

Sonata quasi una fantasia 

Sonata quasi una fantasia (Moonlight Sonata)

Ludwig Van Beethoven

Vienna, 1801

 

During the classical era, the middle class was on the rise, and they wanted access to the same music as the upper class citizens. So composers and performers broadened their audience to include the middle class and began to hold public performances. Ludwig van Beethoven was the first composer to remain as a freelance composer (1); he did not relying only on his commissions of the Aristocrats and Royalty, but made a comfortable living through the teaching, composing, and performing of his music.

What is attractive about his compositions is that it is simply music; no lyrics. So the listener can create their own story to the music, and this attracted a wide array of audiences.

 

What drew me to Moonlight Sonata is that it allows me to turn my mind off and simply listen to the graceful, fluid music. It is so relatable to many different moods and also creates different emotions throughout the song.

 

Works Cited:

(1)   http://amtf200.community.uaf.edu/

5 thoughts on “Classic Era – Ludwig van Beethovan

  1. brooksakgestudent says:

    I like how you connected his work to the middle class. I also enjoyed listening to it. It would have been nice if you could have included a link to the music. I can relate to your comments about it being simply music and no lyrics, I enjoy listening to classical music for that reason, I tend to enjoy violin over piano though. One thing that I don’t think that you did very well is give resources for your work, I believe that it would have been better to find two independent sites from blackboard and sited them. If you had linked to the music and to a site that had the history that would have helped to substantiate your work better.

  2. Jamie says:

    Hi,

    I really enjoyed reading your blog about the life and work of Ludwig Van Beethoven. You provided a history, how his work is connected to the middle class, and why you liked the piece. I also think that this piece is very beautiful and agree that you can feel a variety of emotions while listening. You DID provide a link to it, so thank you. I would have liked to see in-text citations to see what things were your own contribution and what you got from other sources. Overall, I liked the piece you chose and was glad that you shared. Thanks.

  3. I think skrobles blog did a great job at giving all the factual information. They included the composer, title, date and place. I very much enjoyed their personal views on this piece of music. They also convincingly connected this piece to the rise of the middle class. I think the “Moonlight Sonata” is one of Beethoven’s best works.

  4. jcfulk says:

    l really like your choice in music here. l chose the piece as well because I often listen to it while studying. Great analysis and accurate depiction of Beethoven’s audience being the common people.

  5. You did a great job connecting the piece and how it relates to the middle class. The music is very graceful, and I could see myself listening to it to relax, or study. Your blog was somewhat brief, but it seemed straight to the point.

Leave a comment