Impressionism: Edgar Degas


Image

Edgar Degas

Girl Drying Herself

France, 1885

The Impressionist style reminded me of a vague dream; the kind of dream that you wake up from and can’t remember much of the details, but only the faint emotions that you felt in the dream. It was a good dream, but you don’t really know why, you just wake up happy and refreshed.

I wasn’t exactly impressed with Impressionism. None of the paintings that I looked were eye catching or inspiring or unique, compared to the art work of prior eras. But I think that was the intention. These paintings typically depicted the ordinary, everyday moments in life, and that’s where the beauty lies.

There was one painting that did catch my eye, but not for it’s uniqueness or extordinary  beauty. It was it’s familiarity that stood out. This painting was hung over my Grandmother’s cast iron, claw foot tub. I love taking baths in that tub as a child, because it was such a unique bathtub. Taking a bath was so ordinary, but that bathtub made it the experience unique. And as I soaked in the hot water in the cast iron tub, warming up from a day at the windy beach, I would stare at this painting, along with several other Degas paintings in my Grandmother’s very unique bathroom.

http://www.edgar-degas.org/

http://library.thinkquest.org/C0118063/critique/c_degas.htm

5 thoughts on “Impressionism: Edgar Degas

  1. skpeek says:

    The description of Impressionism relating to a dream was so unique. What a great way to describe this era of art, your really hit it spot on. There was beauty in these every day occurrences for the people in those instances. I would have more appreciation for this art if it was a little more edgy or stood out in some bold way. Although it just sort of blends like the era it wasn’t a stand out kind of time. This itself leaves a lot of room for criticism which I back fully feeling like this era was a slight waste only because I don’t truly care for it.

    I think that with a few small changes the era could have been captured in a light that all people would have liked so much more. The colors being boring and bland really had no appeal to the eye. I almost get bored just looking at it, without taking the time to stare into it to see what is going one because it seems lifeless. What a great connection to this painting, having it over your Grandmothers tub, it would be a good bathroom art piece. One could really question what is going on in the picture simply because its so vague. You wonder, where has the girl just gotten out of the water? was she with people? was it to clean herself, exercise or for pleasure? There is a lot of mystery that surrounds this painting.

    Good write up on your connection and what not as well as putting where the painting is along with the year. I would have liked to know a little something about the artist or some background in to the photo but over all great blog!

  2. skyranger960 says:

    You made you opinion about impressionism clear from the beginning. You cited a specific example. I liked the background story of the bathtub, particularly because I believe that is one the main ways we find beauty in works of art. However, for next time more background information about the painting and artist should be included.

  3. jarnoldblog says:

    I like how you described impressionism paitings like a dream you can not rememeber. That is a great way of describing what it is like. I agree with you that impressionism paintings were not a wow factor. However they are still amazing pieces of art work. They are so simple yet so complicated all at once.

  4. ashcurrence says:

    I agree with you absolutely on the style being like a dream also, especially with all the different lines present in the paintings and smears. I really like the piece you chose and the story behind it! Great job on stating your thoughts on Impressionism and citing your sources, I didn’t see info on the artwork though or a comparison with another style. Good content though! just missed a couple parts.

  5. I think just about everyone likes your post. I agree and our lessons have said that this era was not about the flashyness that we have seen before. My favorite part of your post was that you were already familiar with this piece. I think what could have made your post more worth while would be including some background about what you noticed as a kid verses what you notice now. Or how that painting came to your grandma’s house. Something personal. But as i said before good job.

Leave a comment